Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff - English & Communication Department

English & Communication Department | Muntz Hall • Room 348 | Phone: (513) 745-5625 | lindsey.ovadia@uc.edu

Administration

Susan Sipple, PhD

Susan Sipple, PhD

Department Chair - Professor of English
Muntz Hall 236
(513) 936-7127
susan.sipple@uc.edu

Lindsey Ovadia

Lindsey Ovadia Holm

Program Manager
Muntz Hall 348
(513) 745-5625
lindsey.ovadia@uc.edu

Faculty

Sonja Andrus, PhD

Sonja Andrus, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Walters Hall 371
(513) 936-7144
sonja.andrus@uc.edu

Brian Baile

Brian Bailie, PhD

Assistant Professor of English
Muntz Hall 251A
(513) 936-7101
brian.bailie@uc.edu

Ruth Benander, PhD

Ruth Benander, PhD

Professor of English
Walters Hall 140
(513) 745-5778
ruth.benander@uc.edu

Susanna Clason

Susanna Clason, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Muntz Hall 112EA
(513) 936-1717
clasonsa@ucmail.uc.edu

Anna Hensley

Anna Hensley, PhD

Assistant Professor of English
Muntz Hall 112F
(513) 936-1733
anna.hensley@uc.edu

William Jennings, PhD

William Jennings, PhD

Assistant Professor of English and Communication
Muntz Hall 264
(513) 936-1515
jenninwp@uc.edu

Neely McLaughlin, PhD

Neely McLaughlin, PhD

Assistant Professor of English
Muntz Hall 311
(513) 936-6402
neely.mclaughlin@uc.edu

Kevin Oberlin, PhD

Kevin Oberlin, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Placement Coordinator
Muntz Hall 343
(513) 936-1706
kevin.oberlin@uc.edu

Rhonda Pettit, PhD

Rhonda Pettit, PhD

Professor of English
Walters Hall 132
(513) 745-8319
rhonda.pettit@uc.edu

Drew Shade

Drew Shade, PhD

Assistant Professor of Communication
Muntz Hall 251A
(513) 936-1648
drew.shade@uc.edu

Libby Anthony

Libby Anthony, PhD

Assistant Professor of English
Muntz Hall 311
(513) 936-1523
libby.anthony@uc.edu

Laurie Bauer

Laurie Bauer, EdD

Assistant Professor of Reading and Literacy
Muntz Hall 112F
(513) 936-1703
bienlm@mail.uc.edu

Alex Mwangi Chege, PhD

Alex Mwangi Chege, PhD

Assistant Professor of English
Muntz Hall 313
(513) 936-7203
chegemi@ucmail.uc.edu

Cynthia Crane, PhD

Cynthia Crane, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Walters Hall 134
(513) 745-5799
cynthia.crane@uc.edu

Shaorong Huang, PhD

Shaorong Huang, PhD

Professor of English and Communication
Muntz Hall 345
(513) 745-5735
shaorong.huang@uc.edu

Rita Kumar, PhD

Rita Kumar, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Muntz Hall 344
(513) 936-7129
rita.kumar@uc.edu

Robert Murdock, PhD

Robert Murdock, PhD

Writing and Study Skills Center Faculty Director, Assistant Professor of English
Muntz 112KB
(513) 936-1716
robert.murdock@uc.edu

Amber Peplow

Amber Peplow, PhD

Communication Coordinator, Assistant Professor of Communication
Walters 142
(513) 936-1749
amber.peplow@uc.edu

Brenda Refaei, EdD

Brenda Refaei, EdD

Composition Coordinator - Associate Professor of English
Muntz Hall 319
(513) 936-7164
refaeibg@uc.edu

Claudia Skutar

Claudia Skutar, PhD

Associate Professor of English
Walters Hall 124
(513) 936-1789
claudia.skutar@uc.edu

Writing and Study Skills Center Tutors

Daniel Sansing

Daniel Sansing

Academic Tutor - Adjunct Instructor of English
Muntz Hall 112K
(513) 745-5600
daniel.sansing@uc.edu

Eric Van Hoose

Eric Van Hoose

Academic Tutor
Adjunct Instructor of English

Muntz Hall 112K
(513) 745-5733
eric.vanhoose@uc.edu

Sharon Disher

Sharon Disher

Academic Tutor
Adjunct Instructor of Study Skills

Muntz Hall 112K
(513) 745-5733
sharon.disher@uc.edu

Peggy Strohmaier

Peggy Strohmaier

Academic Tutor
Muntz Hall 112K
(513) 745-5733
margaret.strohmaier@uc.edu

Adjunct Faculty - Study Skills

Adjunct Faculty - Communication

Adjunct Faculty - English

Emeriti Faculty

  • Diana Becket, PhD (ret. June 2015)
  • Clyde Dorn
  • John Fellers
  • Louise Flavin, PhD (ret. September 2009)
  • Barbara Hansen, PhD
  • Ann Hern, PhD
  • Philip Alan Luther (ret. July 2013)

  • Rebecca McDaniel (ret. July 2011)
  • Carol Sue Robinson
  • Michael Roos (ret. August 2015)
  • Phyllis Sherwood, PhD 
  • Stanley Sulkes, PhD

 


Contact Information

Muntz Hall • Room 348
Phone: (513) 745-5625
Fax: (513) 745-5771
Email: lindsey.ovadia@uc.edu