More Stuff

10 Years in a Row!


UC Blue Ash eMedia students keep on representing!

For the tenth consecutive year students from the Electronic Media Communications program at the University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College are being recognized for their work with awards from the Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).  

The awards were presented at the 53th Annual Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Awards Gala in August at the Lawrenceburg Event Center in Lawrenceburg, Indiana. The Academy recognizes student work in specific categories, just as they recognize professional work, and this year the Ohio Valley Chapter received entries from colleges and universities across the chapter’s four-state region (Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana and West Virginia). 

Each project represents professional levels of accomplishment in their respective areas of technical craft or program classification, and these projects were recommended for nomination by working media professionals including animators, video producers, production managers, directors of photography and screenwriters. 

For the second year in a row, UC Blue Ash students won the greatest number of Student Production Awards by a single college. Out of a total of 20 Student Production Awards given this year, UC Blue Ash students won four. It’s the academy’s top honor in the student competition.  

“We are extremely proud of the impressive accomplishments of our students this year and over the past decade,” says H. Michael Sanders, chair of the Electronic Media Communications Department at UC Blue Ash. “These awards were distributed across a wide range of craft categories, which continues to demonstrate the solid technical and practical strengths of our program across the full spectrum.”  

Randy Clark, a recent graduate from the eMedia program at UC Blue Ash, won two of the prestigious Student Production Awards.

The four Student Production Awards for projects from eMedia Communications at UC Blue Ash include: Public Access Preacher by Randy Clark (West Chester), which won in both the Music Video program category and in the Editor craft category: Animation Portfolio by Rachel Kauffman (Lebanon), which won in the Animation/Special Effects craft category; and Double Animation Reel by Hannah Ridge (Middletown), which also won in the Animation/Special Effects craft category.  

In addition, four Honorable Mention Awards were collected by eMedia Communications student producers: Randy Clark in the craft category of Director and also in the craft category of Writer for Public Access Preacher; Janusia Figuerido (Elmwood Place) in the Animation/Special Effects craft category for Figueiredo Animation Reel; and Alesha Schoen (Milford) in the Animation/Special Effects craft category for Animation Reel

The faculty advisors from UC Blue Ash were also recognized with award certificates. The recipients are professor Sanders, along with William Boyle, David Hartz and Dave Hubble.  

The Ohio Valley Chapter of NATAS, one of 20 regional chapters in the United States. It includes the television markets across portions of Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia. The honored programs are available for viewing on the Ohio Valley Chapter website at 


Take a look at award winning projects by UC Blue Ash eMedia Communications students:

Randy Clark – Public Access Preacher

Rachel Kauffman – Animation Portfolio

Hannah Ridge – Double Animation Reel

Honorable Mention recipients: 

Janusia Figuerido – Figuerido Animation Reel

Alesha Schoen – Animation Reel



For more information on the eMedia program at UC Blue Ash College, visit their page at


About Olive Wright

Olive Wright is the Communications Intern with the Communications Department at UC Blue Ash College for the 2017-18 academic year. Look forward to seeing Olive's contributions to UCBANOW and all year long.